Wednesday, May 8, 2019

7 Natural Wonders of Argentina

7 destinations in the country were selected as "the natural wonders of Argentina" in a competition organized by the New Foundation 7 Wonders, to" inspire and raise awareness about the preservation of the original beauty of the whole country, "using a selection of seven symbols.

The competition had different stages. The first was a candidate, which included more than 200 natural places and 77 pre-nominated candidates. In the second stage, 28 experts, experts in the fields of science, tourism, photography, the press and the arts, were selected, among them the 28 finalists, from the final stage: the vote of the people.

"Argentina is a whole, we have to think of places to be able to preserve them and become a vehicle for a generation of sustainable development," said Carlos Gimenez Vetere, CEO of Siete Maravillas, in the event that the winners were announced. "We all know what it means that the falls will be sorted And finally to be one of the seven wonders of the world. "

Bañado de la Estrella - Formosa Province

Formosa province's standout attraction is Bañado la Estrella. This stunning wetland area is a floodplain of the Río Pilcomayo and harbors an astonishing range of birdlife, as well as alligators, capybaras, sizeable serpents and beautiful water plants. From the roads that cross this 200km-long finger-shaped area, it's easy to spot a huge variety of wildlife: pack binoculars.

Perito Moreno Glacier - Patagonia

The Perito Moreno Glacier is a glacier located in the Los Glaciares National Park in southwest Santa Cruz Province, Argentina. It is one of the most important tourist attractions in the Argentinian Patagonia. The 250 km2 (97 sq mi) ice formation, 30 km (19 mi) in length, is one of 48 glaciers fed by the Southern Patagonian Ice Field located in the Andes system shared with Chile. This ice field is the world's third largest reserve of fresh water.

Nahuel Huapi National Park - Patagonia

Nahuel Huapi National Park is in the provinces of Neuquen and Rio Negro, in Patagonia, in the foothills of the Andes mountains. Nahuel Huapi National Park is in San Carlos de Bariloche, which is a city in Rio Negro, Argentina. Bariloche is one of those places you'll end up staying longer than you planned. Why? it's not for the city's aesthetic appeal, rather it's for the great outdoors and night life. It's the elite honeymoon capital in Argentina. It's the main hub for travelling around the Lake District, the gateway to Patagonia and chocolate capital of Argentina. For national park information and a good collection of maps, visit Parque Nacional Nahuel Huapi on the corner of San Martin and Morales. Also Club Andino offers free maps and provide information on trekking area. They sell transfers and trekking packages and you can reserve a bunk there for most of the shelters in the nearby mountains.

Talampaya National Park - La Rioja Province

Talampaya National Park is a geological treasure in La Rioja Province of Argentina, in the Cuyo region. The park covers an area of 215,000 hectares but only 5% is accessible to the visitor. The rest is a research area. Inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage List in 2000, it is an environmental, economic and social promoter of nearby populations that have a chance to develop thanks to sustainable tourism.

Mina Clavero River - Cordoba Province 

Mina Clavero is a municipality in Córdoba Province, Argentina. It is characterized by its natural landscapes, beaches and nightlife. The area is popular tourist site with its 14 miles of sandy beach and rocks, small waterfalls, spas and natural river basins. There are also cultural options such as the Museo de las Campanas (with a collection of over 600 bells from around the world) or the minerals museum.

Salinas Grandes - Jujuy Province 

The Salinas Grandes are located in the north west part of Argentina, in the provinces of Jujuy and Salta, at an average altitude of 3450 meters above sea level. It covers an area of 212 km2

Misiones Jungle - Iguazu Falls

Iguazu Falls are located within the Iguazu Falls National Park, a protected area over 67,720 hectares (167.34 acres) on the Northern border of the Province of Misiones, Argentina. The Park comprises a series of 275 waterfalls at the heart of the Paranaense Rainforest, located 17 kilometers (10.5 miles) from the Iguazu River feeding into the Paraná River, where the Argentine, Brazil and Paraguay borders meet, and where the cities of Puerto Iguazu (Argentina), Foz do Iguaçu (Brazil) and Ciudad del Este (Paraguay) face each other.